Transitions…

19553967_10102854387920727_2941414263266517063_nToday is a little bit of a sad day for me. Today is Lydia Rees’ last day working at the Arkansas Archeological Survey. Two years ago Lydia (my wife) quit her CRM crew chief position and stepped into a grant-funded position at the last minute when I could not swing a tuition waiver for a graduate student. We spent the next 2 years collaborating on research & outreach in the Ozarks. These have been an incredibly happy 2 years. I had not realized that I had been in a work rut before our collaboration; work with Lydia reinvigorated me and made me interested in new parts of archeology again. I was really fortunate to have these 2 years. I benefited greatly from our collaboration, but if I’m honest I’d guess that our collaboration led to her being in my shadow too much. To be clear, she deserves more credit for our productivity than I. I wish these 2 years could go on forever, but that would not be fair to L & her professional development.

I am really happy that she is moving on to do her own thing & her own projects, and I will probably still collaborate with her on projects. However, I also admit that I’m a little worried about slipping back into that depressive slump.

So let’s all cheer A LOT for her and maybe y’all can cheer *a little* for me.

Tags:

Categories: academia, archeology, life, news, spotlight

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

