Arkansas Humanties Council

AHClogo copyThis fall I have been elected to the Arkansas Humanities Council’s Board of Directors (I will start my term in January 2015).  I am excited about this as I have been involved in many, many AHC grants in the past–including serving as a humanities scholar on a large number of projects to document endangered African-American cemeteries in the state.

Moreover, I have given conference papers (and now I have an article in press) that points out that many of the early historical archeology projects in Arkansas were funded by AHC grants…projects such as Ruth  Polk Patterson’s Seeds of Sally Goodin and Skip Stewart-Abernathy’s documentation of the Sawdust Hill community before the creation of Parkin Archeological State Park destroyed it.  The Arkansas Humanities Council supports very important and vital work in the state of Arkansas and I will be proud to be part of making that happen.

Moreover, I’m also proud that the Arkansas Archeological Survey has a LONG history of being involved in the AHC.  My predecessor at the ARAS-SAU Research Station, Dr. Frank Schambach, served as the Chair of the AHC way-back when…and, as I understand it, he helped to steer the organization out of some dire financial straights.  Since then, ARAS folks have been involved with the AHC pretty much continually…I follow in the footsteps of Drs. Thomas Green, George Sabo and (most recently) Ann Early.

It’s going to be a lot of work…but from all accounts this will be a fun ride.

Tags: ,

Categories: news, spotlight

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

