Living in Glass Houses….

I’ve returned to Magnolia after two weeks of helping my friend James Davidson and his University of Florida archaeological field school excavate a Spanish mission (more on that soon over on the Farther Along blog).

At any rate, my first full day back at the SAU Station and I got to witness what David Jeane and Frank Schambach have been telling me about for some time…this morning (around 8:15 am) a physical plant employee was mowing outside our laboratory area…the mower threw a small rock which hit one of the large windows that surround the Bruce Center…the resulting shatter was spectacular and it remains standing–crackling away as the structure further fractures–as I write.
I understand that it cost $1000 to replace these windows…and I understand that this rock-shatter business happens fairly regularly (at least two times a year)…so I wonder why they don’t use a small weed eater instead, or simply landscape the Bruce Center so it will not need to be mowed…it has to be cheaper in the long run…

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: life, post

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

