Happy Holidays from Magnolia!

The image in this post is SAU’s signature Bell Tower all “lit up” for the holidays (it usually looks like this).

It’s hard to believe that I’ll be finishing my first semester as the AAS-SAU Research Station Archeologist…time goes by quite quickly.
My first semester here I’ve dealt with the Cedar Grove Collection theft, started raising money to secure and refurbish our station and the future SAU Museum and begun the process of reviving the Kadohadacho chapter of the Arkansas Archeological Society. I attended three conferences, gave two conference papers and did two public talks, three radio interviews and several TV and newspaper interviews. I attended two weekend public outreach events (Texarkana Archeology Fair and Civil War Days at Old Washington) and wrote an article and a book chapter.
By far, my favorite parts of this semester have been getting to know my station territory with the help of Vernon Perry, Anthony Clay Newton and Peggy Lloyd…I’ve gotten to see a lot of sites (both prehistoric and historic) and a WHOLE LOT of cemeteries.
To all my friends and family–both in Magnolia and elsewhere–Happy Holidays!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: life

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

