The Boll Weevil Revisited

Just a quick word regarding one of the GSC mascots I mentioned a post or so back…last week (before the SEAC Conference) I was in Monticello giving an archeology talk when I visited the bookstore.

The bookstore carried bumper stickers that not only sported the big green boll weevil (see mascot costume to the right), but also the fantastic phrase:
“Ain’t Nuthin’ More Evil Than a Damned Boll Weevil.”

I bought 4.

Later I learned from a UAM Station Staff member that the current UAM President is trying to get rid of this saying….that’s a shame.

I wonder if it is the profanity or the suggestion that his school may be “evil” that had lead to the change of heart?

On a side note…the UAM girls teams do not use the Boll Weevil mascot…they are called the “Cotton Blossoms.” First, its not like boll weevils are gender specific (like the ATU “Wonder Boys”)…so why not the “Lady Weevils”? It makes as much sense as the “Lady ‘Backs”? Second, I find the cotton blossoms mascot oddly disturbing…I mean, think about what it is that boll weevils do to cotton blossoms.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: academia, post

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “The Boll Weevil Revisited”

  1. November 16, 2006 at 6:32 pm #

    I agree, very eerie and a bit off-color, if not in bad taste…But I love the bumper sticker!

  2. February 19, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    Hot dog! Yeah man!

Leave a Reply

