Conference Proliferation

Have you academics out there noticed that the number of conferences you “need” to attend is growing geometrically?

This year I have on my agenda:

At three of these either myself or my institution (the Arkansas Archeological Survey) is the host: the AAS meeting (of course), SEAC & the Caddo Conference…I’m committed to giving papers at thee (AAS, SHA, WAC) & I’m being “leaned on” to give a paper at another (SCHAC)…and I sortta wanted to go to the SAAs because the were in my old stomping grounds of Austin, Texas (and because I haven’t gotten to go to an SAA in five years).

This schedule doesn’t even allow me to branch out into other related fields–The Akansas History Conference, museum association meetings, or conferences in African-American studies or American studies….or just about any where else I might be interested in making contacts with other professionals who may not be archaeologists or anthropologists.

Obviously, some must be cut…but which ones?

Tags: , ,

Categories: academia, archeology, history, post

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

