What’s My Name?

Ahhhhh…For some reason people insist on formalizing my name. I understand that my given name–Jamie–seems like a derivative nickname, but I can’t help but feeling that the folks that change my name to “James” have some class issues.

For instance, my first wife’s mother thought “Jamie Chad” didn’t sound like a name befitting an archaeologist. At parties, family get-togethers, etc. she continually introduced me as “James Chadwick Brandon”….That was the first time that I had encountered the problem–as “Jamie” seems fine for a small town boy or an undergraduate student–but the problem has continually turned up since…esp. since the Ph.D……For example, see the above name tag issued to me this week by SAU.

Get over it, folks….I’m Jamie Chad Brandon & I’m proud of it!

Tags: ,

Categories: academia, life, post

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

