Tartan Army Behind Trinidad and Tobago?

My friend Peggy Brunache, now living over in Scotland, alerted me to the fact that although Scotland’s team did not make the World Cup, they will be there in force and supporting …not England…but Trinidad & Tobago–the Soca Warriors! I was, of course, immediately intrigued. What was behind this? Unity among peoples colonized by the UK? General anti-English sentiment? Is Tobago a popular vacation destination for Scots?

Well…it turns out to be the confluence of several things that brings the Scots to back “T&T.” First, Trinidad have six Scots-based players in their squad…then there is the fact that the Trinidad and Tobago striker is named Jason SCOTLAND (quite a convenient surname, eh?). Jason is so proud of his adopted homeland that he’ll be sporting a “Tartan Army” T-shirt during the World Cup and Jason Scotland’s official Trinidad jersey is in such demand that sports shops sold out almost as soon as they came in the door, especially with the Soca Warriors being drawn in the same group as England.

The Sunday Mail quotes Jason as saying “The fans have been great, I’ve loved my time there and regard it as my second home. Every time I meet people they wish me luck for the World Cup and insist I do my best against England. It has been a positive reaction and it’s hard to believe I have so much support from a country that isn’t even my home nation.”

I can’t help but feeling that there is a bit of anti-colonialism in here somewhere, however…

Tags: , ,

Categories: life

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

