John Barleycorn Lives, Part 2

Last night…I took visiting friend and researcher Carl Carlson-Drexler to Bayou Bistro after a long day looking at Civil War-related sites in Hempstead and Nevada Counties…

 and I bought my first legal Magnolia beer! I said I would believe it when I saw it so…John Barley Corn Lives!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: history, life, news, post

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “John Barleycorn Lives, Part 2”

  1. August 26, 2007 at 10:23 pm #

    The virtues of progress… measured by the freedom to order and drink a cold beer at a restaurant.Phase II – expansion of the selection of cold beers to order and drink at said restaurant…

  2. August 27, 2007 at 12:47 am #

    It’s true…Miller Light will not cut it in the long run.

  3. August 29, 2007 at 1:58 am #

    Jamie – First of all, this is a fantastic picture of you. I love the single curl of hair above your left eye, the green wood-slat background, the weird stick-figure-with-a-chef-hat-faux-oil-painting-picture in the background (maybe it is a real oil painting?), the image of something apparently dramatic on TV immediately above your head (is that the bottom of the bridge in Minnesota before it collapsed?), and the light fixture to your right creating something like a 5-rayed moire pattern. Most of all, though, this picture seems to encapsulate, at least for me, the essence of “Jamie-Brandon-ness”. Your smile, your shirt, your glasses: I can almost hear you begin a sentence, ” You know, juxtaposing Malinowski with Pritchard, or Lynard Skynard with Meatloaf…..” In other words, I miss you. And everyone else Michelle and I met in Arkansas. Did Carl take this picture? As Jon Stewart is fond of saying, “Well done, my friend.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

